Integrating Operations, Insurance, And Building Codes Into The Overall Mitigation Strategy

Thursday, September 10, 2009
Rayburn 2253
10:30AM – 12:00PM

In June 2009, NEMA released a white paper titled “Recommendations for an Effective National Mitigation Effort”. The paper, and the preceding collaborative effort, was a successful example of the power of Federal, State, local, and organizational cooperation to call attention to disaster preparedness. Join us for a discussion on the future of mitigation.



The Honorable Craig Fugate, Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency and former Director of the Florida Emergency Management Agency

Mr. James Mullen, NEMA Mitigation Committee Chair and Director of the Washington State Emergency Management Division 

Mrs. Debra Ballen, General Counsel and Senior Vice President for Public Policy for the Institute for Building and Home Safety 
Presentation (PDF)

Mr. Michael Armstrong, Senior Vice President, Member Services & Communications for the International Code Council and former FEMA Associate Director for Mitigation during the Clinton Administration
Presentation (PDF)

The white paper was released in conjunction with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the assistance of numerous other organizations to outline the importance of mitigation efforts aimed at building disaster resiliency across the nation. The release of the white paper comes at a time where the threat of flooding, tornados, hurricanes, and other disasters weigh heavily on economically challenged states and localities across the country. While mitigation initiatives can come with hefty short term price tags, the long-term effects of successful mitigation plans and projects can prove to be crucial investments for the safety and resiliency of any community.

Recommendations for an Effective National Mitigation Effort (PDF)


National Emergency Management Association

In cooperation with the Congressional Hazards Caucus:

Senators Mary Landrieu, Lisa Murkowski, and Ben Nelson, and
Representatives Dennis Moore, Jo Bonner, and Zoe Lofgren, Co–Chairs of the Caucus